Ubuntu (Gutsy): Change Default Keyring Password

I changed my user password in Ubuntu, everything was OK until the next time I booted my Linux box. Keyring Manager was asking me for a password (as my wireless connection needed stored WPA password), immediately figured out that this was caused by the password change.

The problem is that Gnome Keyring manager doesn’t have an option to change the default keyring password. So, if your user password is changed, every time you log in Keyring Manager will ask for the password you supplied during Ubuntu’s installation (awkward).

Due the lack of password change in Keyring Manager we need another application: Seahorse. To install type the following:

$ sudo apt-get install seahorse

Once installed open it (Applications -> Accessories -> Passwords and Encryption Keys), and then go to Edit -> Preferences menu. Select GNOME Keyring tab and change the password to match your actual Linux user password.

Keyring Manager

Ubuntu (Gutsy): Change Default Keyring Password

7 thoughts on “Ubuntu (Gutsy): Change Default Keyring Password

  1. Chih says:

    I found this thread from Ubuntuforums.org and I just wanted to say thank you very much, this works wonderfully.

  2. There is no “GNOME Keyring” tab. I solved this by opening Seahorse:

    Open Applications -> Accessories -> Passwords and Encryption Keys

    Then going to Edit -> Preferences -> Password Keyrings tab. Click “login” in the list, and then click the “Change Unlock Password” button.

  3. mrthirteen says:

    Just so you know this quick howto is still valid even in future versions. Finally the prompt for my “old” password for the default keyring bugged me enough to search for a solution. Which I found here. #1 hit on google for “ubuntu default keyring” There is a bit of a change however for Intrepid Ibex version. (8.10) I do not believe you need to install seahorse as I think it is installed by default now on Intrepid. Also, After Edit > Preferences the tab is now called “Password Keyrings” and you highlight “login” then click “Change Unlock password”

    Thank you for this howto
    Thirteen
    http://www.thirteensworld.com/
    http://www.twitter.com/mrthirteen/

Leave a Reply

